Smoke in Our Eyes

by consortiumofthecurious

Image

“He expertly flicked his cigarette” –Every book ever.

 

A few months ago I was at a poetry reading when someone uttered this line. It’s harmless enough, maybe even true for the circumstances, but could it possibly be true that all smokers are experts at flicking cigarettes? Are there no amateur smokers left? 

 

Then today I came across it again in the book I was reading. (I won’t name names because it’s still shaping up to be a fantastic read.) But I stand before you to make this solemn vow: I will not have a character flick a cigarette unless he sucks at it.

 

 

Think of it as my signature move. (And watch out for it in one of the new installments.)

 

On a side note: I hope everyone’s weekend was lovely and full of writing. 

 

 

 

 

